Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Alexandre Reignier

Published 23 / 10 / 2020

Through different media such as architecture or design, Alexandre flourishes thanks to this reflection on different scales. At the base of his approach, the search for a certain aesthetic and minimalist meaning, to simplify forms to enhance the material. less is more, therefore, with the added bonus of this living material that has followed him for years… Meeting.

Could you tell me about your background? 

I studied industrial designer and I worked for 11 years in a design office before getting into the design field. My field of activity was therefore far from design, but these few years allowed me to learn and deepen my knowledge in study and production techniques, which are of great help to me today. I trained on my own, just trying to follow the idea and vision I had for this new activity. 

You revolve around different activities: interior architecture, design and craftsmanship. How would you define yourself? 

Not really having a cap, I like to move from one area to another depending on the opportunities. I started with design, and I made myself known through my own creations. But today interior architecture also takes an important place in my activity. 

You came to collaborate with Atelier Ordinaire on your house project. Can you tell us about your collaboration with them? 

I stumbled across their Instagram profile when I was looking to sell our apartment. I contacted them, we talked for over an hour and it was a revelation for me, I wanted them to take care of my house. We got along so well that we then collaborated on other projects. Work with Ordinary Workshop is enriching because we each bring different but complementary visions to each project.

As an interior designer, how do you understand spaces? 

I start by getting to know the place as if I had to live there. I like that the space becomes as fluid as possible, that everything is obvious. I then bring my personal touch to it. For example, I work with wood a lot in my projects, but above all I like to bring a certain simplicity to my projects, without superfluity.

What do you think wood brings to a home? 

It brings a certain softness and a sense of comfort that no other material provides. It is a living material that evolves over time and in fact, with our daily lives. 

What is your relationship with this material? 

Since I was little, I have enjoyed working with wood in various ways. It is a material that awakens many of our senses such as our sense of smell or our touch. It is also an accessible material - depending on the species, light but strong at the same time, ecological and alive. It has all the qualities necessary for the creation of a design or architectural project.

Indeed you also develop your own design pieces. What is your approach? 

I always start my research by observing a lot around me - a lingering desire or even a detail that reminds me of an object. Then comes the sketch, 3D modeling and finally the realization of the prototype. I am fortunate to have a very technical training which allows me to think from the design on the means of manufacture. I also really like collaborating on my different projects. For example, I met some time ago Laurence Labbé, ceramist in Strasbourg, with whom I discussed one of my sketches and from whom a lamp project was born. If I like wood a lot, I like the raw material above all.  

What are your sources of inspiration? 

Of Mediterranean origin, my childhood and my living environment inspire me a lot. But I'm just as passionate about Japanese and Danish design, especially the work of Kengo Kuma and Niels Stroyer Christophersen !

What are your plans for the future? 

More design! I am currently working on several pieces in addition to my current collection, mixing different materials ...

Explorez notre nouvelle sélection On The Table via l'onglet Shop

Alexandre Reignier

Publié le 23/10/2020

À travers différents médias tels que l’architecture ou le design, Alexandre s’épanouit grâce à cette réflexion sur différentes échelles. À la base de sa démarche, la recherche d’un certain sens esthétique et minimaliste, simplifier les formes pour valoriser la matière. Less is more, donc, avec en prime ce matériau vivant qui le suit depuis des années… Rencontre.

Pourrais-tu me parler de ton parcours ? 

J’ai fait des études de dessinateur projeteur industriel et j’ai travaillé pendant 11 ans dans un bureau d’étude avant de me lancer  dans le domaine du design. Mon domaine d’activité était donc bien loin du design mais ces quelques années m’ont permises d’apprendre et d’approfondir mes connaissances en technique d’étude et de réalisation, qui me sont d’une grande aide aujourd’hui. Je me suis formé tout seul, simplement en essayant de suivre l’idée et la vision que j’avais de cette nouvelle activité. 

Tu gravites autour de différentes activités : l’architecture d’intérieur, le design et l’artisanat. Comment te définirais-tu ? 

N’ayant pas vraiment de casquette, j’aime passer d’un domaine à l’autre selon les opportunités. J’ai commencé par le design, et je me suis fait connaître par mes propres créations. Mais aujourd’hui l’architecture d’intérieur prend aussi une place importante dans mon activité. 

Tu es venu à collaborer avec Atelier Ordinaire sur ton projet de maison. Peux-tu nous raconter ta collaboration avec eux ? 

Je suis tombé par hasard sur leur profil Instagram quand je cherchais à vendre notre appartement. Je les ai contacté, on a échangé plus d’une heure et ce fut une révélation pour moi, je voulais que ce soit eux qui s’occupent de ma maison. Nous nous sommes tellement bien entendus, que nous avons ensuite collaboré sur d’autres projets. Travailler avec Atelier Ordinaire est enrichissant car nous apportons chacun des visions différentes mais complémentaires sur chaque projet.

En tant qu’architecte d’intérieur, comment appréhendes-tu les espaces ? 

Je commence par prendre connaissance du lieu comme si je devais y habiter. J’aime que l’espace devienne le plus fluide possible, que tout soit comme une évidence. J’y apporte ensuite ma touche personnelle. Je travaille par exemple énormément le bois dans mes projets, mais j’aime avant tout apporter une certaine simplicité à mes projets, sans superflu.

Le bois justement, qu’apporte t’il selon toi dans une habitation ? 

Il apporte une certaine douceur et un sentiment de réconfort qu’aucun autre matériau ne procure. C’est un matériau vivant qui évolue avec le temps et de fait, avec notre quotidien. 

Quel est ton rapport avec ce matériau ? 

Depuis tout petit, j’aime travailler le bois de manières diverses. C’est un matériau qui éveille beaucoup de nos sens comme notre odorat ou notre toucher. C’est aussi un matériau accessible – selon les essences, léger mais solide à la fois, écologique et vivant. Il dispose de toutes les qualités nécessaires à la création d’un projet de design ou d’architecture.

En effet tu développes aussi tes propres pièces de design. Quelle est ta démarche ? 

Je commence toujours ma recherche en observant beaucoup autour de moi – une envie persistante ou encore un détail me faisant penser à un objet. Puis vient ensuite le croquis, la modélisation en 3D et enfin la réalisation du prototype. J’ai la chance d’avoir une formation très technique qui me permet justement de penser dès la conception aux moyens de fabrication. J’aime aussi beaucoup collaborer sur mes différents projets. J’ai par exemple rencontré il y a quelques temps Laurence Labbé, céramiste à Strasbourg, avec qui j’ai échangé sur l’un de mes croquis et dont un projet de lampe est né. Si j’aime beaucoup le bois, j’aime avant tout la matière brute.  

Quelles sont tes sources d’inspiration ? 

D’origine méditerranéenne, mon enfance et mon cadre de vie m’inspire beaucoup. Mais je suis tout autant passionné par le design japonais et danois, notamment du travail de Kengo Kuma et de Niels Stroyer Christophersen !

Quels sont tes projets pour la suite ? 

Davantage de design ! Je travaille actuellement sur plusieurs pièces en complément de ma collection actuelle, mêlant différentes matières…