Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Chapel of Saint-Benoît Peter Zumthor

Published 28 / 10 / 2020

Saint-Benoît Chapel is located in the village of Sumvitg in the Swiss Alps. Built in 1988 following an avalanche that destroyed the old baroque-style building, the chapel is now on the edge of a forest that protects it, with an incredible view of its surroundings.

Imagined by Peter Zumthor, the chapel fits perfectly into the landscape. His The envelope is made of larch tavaillons - wooden tiles that serve as both thermal insulation and weather protection - whose brown-red color turns gray-black when it rains heavily. Besides the technical aspect, the use of tavaillons allows Peter Zumthor to refer to the traditional construction of the region. Inside, a continuous line of natural light, placed at the top of the wall, follows the shape of the chapel. A wooden structure also follows the teardrop shape of the plan, supporting the framework and accentuating the effect of perspective. 

Imagined by Peter Zumthor, winner of the Pritzker Prize in 2009, the chapel would be for some a sample of the work of the architect. The precision of the carpentry and the attention to detail testify to its rigor and unparalleled know-how.

  • Photographer: August Fischer
  • Location: Sumvitg, Switzerland
  • Year: 1988

Chapelle de Saint-Benoît Peter Zumthor

Publié le 28/10/2020

La chapelle Saint-Benoît se situe dans le village de Sumvitg dans les Alpes suisses. Construite en 1988 à la suite d’une avalanche ayant détruit l’ancien édifice de style baroque, la chapelle se trouve maintenant à la lisière d’une forêt qui la protège, avec une vue incroyable sur son environnement.

Imaginée par Peter Zumthor, la chapelle s’inscrit parfaitement dans le paysage. Son enveloppe est faite de tavaillons de mélèze – des tuiles en bois servant à la fois d’isolant thermique et de protection contre les intempéries – dont la couleur brun-rouge vire au gris-noir lorsqu’il pleut abondamment. Outre l’aspect technique, l’utilisation des tavaillons permet à Peter Zumthor de faire référence à la construction traditionnelle de la région. A l’intérieur, une ligne continue de lumière naturelle, placée au sommet de la paroi, épouse la forme de la chapelle. Une structure en bois suit également la forme en goutte d’eau du plan, venant soutenir la charpente et accentuant l’effet de perspective. 

Imaginée par Peter Zumthor, lauréat du prix Pritzker en 2009, la chapelle serait pour certains un échantillon de l’oeuvre de l’architecte. La précision de la menuiserie et l’attention aux détails témoignent de sa rigueur et de son savoir-faire inégalé.

  • Photographe : August Fischer
  • Lieu : Sumvitg, Suisse
  • Année : 1988
EN FR