Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

The Beauty of the Gesture exhibition Amélie du Chalard and Johanna Colombatti

Published 02 / 06 / 2021

From June 9, 2021, Amelie Maison d'Art will exhibit a selection of works and objects, which highlight the beauty of the gesture of Japanese artists and designers. This exhibition curated by Amélie du Chalard and Johanna Colombatti, reveals the attention to detail, an essential notion of traditional Japanese craftsmanship.

 

This is how several types of materials come into dialogue, such as textiles, straw, glass or even wood. Zougei, a studio dedicated to the creation of wooden art furniture, naturally catches our attention. Founded by sculptor Hiroyuki Nishimura with Yoshitaka Sato and Yuri Nakahashi, this studio mostly uses wood for their works that are unsuitable for furnishings or architecture, and which are intended to become waste. The Japanese term Zouki particularly designates those woods unsuitable for any manufacture. Twisted, branched or split, they are usually cut down for land use planning or shot down by typhoons.

 

Zougei founder Hiroyuki explains, “Their fate is to be smashed into small chips in landfills. I am constantly considering doing something with them. Although tree scraps are beautiful the way they are, I cannot be satisfied with that as a designer. I create my original shape by refining their beautiful proportions. It is the mission of a creator. Every time I meet my finished work, I remember the wind blowing in the thickets or the birds flying there. "

 

Each work presented in this exhibition was then designed sustainably, according to ancestral processes, helping to perpetuate the tradition of Japanese craftsmanship. All the pieces, including the delicate works of Zougei are to be discovered very soon at Amelie Maison d'Art, at 18 rue Séguier 75006, from June 9 to 30, 2021.

Exposition La Beauté du Geste Amélie du Chalard et Johanna Colombatti

Publié le 02/06/2021

À partir du 9 juin 2021, Amelie Maison d’Art exposera une sélection d’oeuvres et objets, qui mettent en lumière la beauté du geste d’artistes et de designers japonais. Cette exposition curatée par Amélie du Chalard et Johanna Colombatti, révèle l’attention portée au détail, notion essentielle de l’artisanat traditionnel japonais.

 

C’est ainsi que viennent dialoguer plusieurs typologies de matières, telles que le textile, la paille, le verre ou encore le bois. Zougei, un studio dédié à la création de meubles d’art en bois, retient naturellement notre attention. Fondé par le sculpteur Hiroyuki Nishimura avec Yoshitaka Sato et Yuri Nakahashi, ce studio utilise la plupart du temps pour leurs oeuvres des bois inadaptés à l’ameublement ou à l’architecture, et qui ont vocation à devenir des déchets. Le terme japonais Zouki désigne particulièrement ces bois impropres à toute fabrication. Tordus, ramifiés ou fendus, ils sont généralement abattus pour l’aménagement du territoire ou abattus par les typhons.

 

Le fondateur de Zougei, Hiroyuki explique :« Leur destin est d’être brisés en petits copeaux dans des décharges. J’envisage constamment de faire quelque chose avec eux. Bien que les rebuts d’arbres soient beaux tels qu’ils sont, je ne peux pas m’en contenter en tant que créateur. Je crée ma forme originale en affinant leurs belles proportions. C’est la mission d’un créateur. Chaque fois que je rencontre mon œuvre terminée, je me souviens du vent qui souffle dans les taillis ou des oiseaux qui y volent. »

 

Chaque oeuvre présentée au sein de cette exposition a alors été conçue durablement, selon des procédés ancestraux, contribuant à perpétuer la tradition de l’artisanat japonais. L’ensemble des pièces, dont les délicates oeuvres de Zougei sont à découvrir très prochainement chez Amelie Maison d’Art, au 18 rue Séguier 75006, du 9 au 30 juin 2021.

EN FR