Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

The Wave Arba

Published 10 / 05 / 2021

In Murat, in the Cantal landscape, theWhere in 2019 begins a dialogue with its environment. Born from the observation that a significant contrast was perceptible between new constructions and old buildings, the architects of Arba take the decision to make the lines more flexible. In contrast to the taut and rigid lines of contemporary roofing, a swift and overflowing two-sided roof tops the larch wood frame, selected for its resistance to bad weather.

THEWhere respond to the first principles of a bioclimatic construction. All the main openings face due south and the clever cover contorts to protect from the wind in the north and catch the rays of the sun in the south. Thus, spaces that prefer privacy to light, such as service and night rooms, benefit from the north side of the house. The living spaces then take advantage of the openings to the south. 

For the architects, Jean-Baptiste Barache and Sihem Lamine, the dwelling is not only intended to be a shelter, it is also an observatory from the inside to the outside. Everything is thought out to stage the exterior environment, from the arrangement of the spaces to the play of openwork which modifies the perception of the landscape to magnify its meeting when the bays open. 

In the privacy of the passenger compartment, the vocabulary is elementary. The concrete slab is left raw, the fir frame is staged, the electrical paths are exhibited. Birch plywood dresses, furnishes and structures spaces. Attention can therefore only be paid to the valued work of the craftsmen and the impregnable beauty of the landscape. 

Article written by Barbara Roussel.

  • Photographer : Jérémie Léon
  • Place : Murat, France
  • Year: 2019
  • Website: http://www.arba.pro

L’Onde Arba

Publié le 10/05/2021

À Murat, dans le paysage cantalien, l’Onde entame en 2019 un dialogue avec son environnement. Né du constat qu’un contraste important était perceptible entre les constructions neuves et les bâtisses anciennes, les architectes de Arba prennent le parti pris d’assouplir les lignes. En opposition aux traits tendus et rigides des couvertures contemporaines, une toiture à deux pans leste et débordante vient coiffer l’ossature en bois de mélèze, sélectionné pour sa résistance aux intempéries.

L’Onde réponds aux premiers principes d’une construction bioclimatique. L’ensemble des ouvertures principales est orienté plein sud et l’habile couverture se contorsionne pour protéger du vent au nord et saisir les rayons du soleil au sud. Ainsi, les espaces préférant l’intimité à la lumière, comme les pièces de service et de nuit, bénéficient du pan nord de la maison. Les lieux de vie profitent alors des ouvertures au sud. 

Pour les architectes, Jean-Baptiste Barache et Sihem Lamine, l’habitation n’a pas comme unique vocation d’être un abri, elle est aussi un observatoire du dedans sur le dehors. Tout est pensé pour mettre en scène l’environnement extérieur, de l’agencement des espaces jusqu’au jeu de claire-voie qui modifie la perception du paysage pour magnifier sa rencontre lors de l’ouverture des baies. 

Dans l’intimité de l’habitacle, le vocabulaire est élémentaire. La dalle de béton est laissée brute, la charpente en sapin est mise en scène, les cheminements électriques s’exhibent. Le contreplaqué de bouleau habille, meuble et structure les espaces. L’attention ne peut être alors portée que sur le travail valorisé des artisans et l’imprenable beauté du paysage. 

Article rédigé par Barbara Roussel.

  • Photographe : Jérémie Léon
  • Lieu : Murat, France
  • Année : 2019
  • Site : http://www.arba.pro
EN FR