Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Fragrance house By now

Published 25 / 05 / 2019

Ormaie is a French family perfume house founded by Baptiste Bouygues and his mother Marie-Lise Jonak. Combining art and nature, she puts creativity at the heart of her approach and surrounds herself with artists and craftsmen to create quality fragrances. Entirely composed of natural raw materials, they also seduce us with their elegant and avant-garde design.

Composed of 7 unisex fragrances, the first Ormaie collection is a clever mix of timeless influences: the design of the 50s, the Asian continent, the great luxury houses such as Louis Vuitton or Givenchy or the work of the sculptor Constantin Brancusi.

Each bottle comes from the only French glassmaker to recycle its own magmas, and the beech cap, from French forests, is carved by hand. The geometric shapes and perfect finishes make these bottles perfect works of art.

As a bonus, we are sharing with you the manifesto of Ormaie, both delicate and intriguing.

  • The house is large and peaceful. Its park is planted with trees of so different species that one is surprised to find them gathered. In the morning, very early, when the mists slowly drift over the long basin, it becomes strange. I'm not surprised thatYvonne loves this place, she who has been interested for years in German romanticism ... Living here, if only for periods, has many advantages. Where is the temperature more pleasant in midsummer, never exceeding the 28° ? Who in Paris would have room for such a large library and five or six guest rooms?

I like the organization of these weekends in the countryside: the guests live at their own pace, their habits are not the same. But we all meet at six in the living room, the French windows are wide open. There are many familiar faces today. Friends ofYvonnethat I have met here or at one of the openings that she organizes in her gallery at irregular intervals. But there are others that I don't know. Like this person sitting in an armchair a few meters from me, whose profile I can only see. I don't take my eyes off it, like someone who is not your type but who is attracted to you. Guests pass and pass between us, glass in hand. They hide or discover according to their movement this person that I observe attentively from the sofa where I am sitting. She wears a dark, moire double-breasted jacket, very fitted, black jeans, suede ankle boots. Her figure is slim with something adolescent. Short hair, color carbon paper, straight nose, dark eyes, well defined lips. She holds between the middle and ring fingers a cigarette which she seems to have forgotten and which is slowly consumed in a thin white stream.

To stare at her like this, I fear embarrassing her. To occupy my attention elsewhere, I silently count the guests: 1, 2, 3… I continue: 8, 9, 10… 21, 22… Obviously, I lost track, there are not that many of us. I turn my attention back to the person in front of me. She distractedly stares at a contemporary photograph, an enigmatically titled jungle image Blue Ivree. Her lips move, as if talking to herself. She seems to be humming " you you you ", or something like that. I do not understand. His elbow is resting on the arm of the chair, his wrist slightly broken. The cigarette has disappeared replaced by a glass of champagne. Despite the distance I can make out a large ring on one of her fingers: the head of a gold Gorgon whose eye sockets are set with two diamonds. Those two transparent eyes seem to be staring at me. Are they asking me a question?

I wave to Yvonne. With her platinum blonde and pantsuit, she is in her XNUMXs. She walks with ease, slipping between the guests, and sits down next to me. I lean towards her and ask her, indicating with a nod of the head the person I have been observing for a few minutes: "Who is it?" " Yvonne smiles mysteriously and answers: "Ormaie". I dare not ask him if it is a man or a woman.

fbpx

Ormaie est une maison de parfum familiale française fondée par Baptiste Bouygues et sa mère Marie-Lise Jonak. Mêlant art et nature, elle met au coeur de sa démarche la créativité et s’entoure d’artistes et artisans pour créer des fragrances de qualité. Entièrement composées de matières premières naturelles, elles nous séduisent également par leur design élégant et avant-gardiste.

Composée de 7 fragrances unisexes, la première collection Ormaie est un savant mélange d’influences intemporelles : le design des années 50, le continent asiatique, les grandes maisons de luxe telles que Louis Vuitton ou Givenchy ou encore l’oeuvre du sculpteur Constantin Brancusi.

Chaque bouteille provient de l’unique verrier français à recycler ses propres magmas, et le capuchon en hêtre, issu de forêts françaises, est sculpté à la main. Les formes géométriques et finitions parfaites font des ces flacons de parfaites oeuvres d’art.

En bonus, nous partageons avec vous manifeste de Ormaie, à la fois délicat et intrigant.

La maison est vaste et paisible. Son parc est planté d’arbres d’essences si différentes qu’on s’étonne de les trouver rassemblées. Le matin, très tôt, quand les brumes dérivent lentement au-dessus du long basin, cela devient étrange. Je ne suis pas surpris qu’Yvonne aime cet endroit, elle qui s’intéresse depuis des années au romantisme allemand… Vivre ici, ne serait-ce que par périodes, a bien des avantages. Où la température est-elle plus agréable en plein été, ne dépassant jamais les 28° ? Qui à Paris aurait la place pour une si grande bibliothèque et cinq ou six chambres d’amis ?

L’organisation de ces week-ends à la campagne me plaît : les invités vivent à leur rythme, leurs habitudes n’étant pas les mêmes. Mais nous nous retrouvons tous à six heures au salon, dont les portes fenêtres sont grandes ouvertes. Il y a aujourd’hui beaucoup de visages connus. Des amis d’Yvonne que j’ai rencontrés ici ou à un des vernissages qu’elle organise dans sa galerie à intervalles irréguliers. Mais il y en a d’autres que je ne connais pas. Comme cette personne assise dans un fauteuil à quelques mètres de moi, dont je ne distingue que le profil. Je n’en détache pas le regard, comme de quelqu’un qui n’est pas votre genre mais dont on subit l’attraction. Entre nous passent et repassent des invités un verre à la main. Ils masquent ou découvrent au gré de leur mouvement cette personne que j’observe avec attention du canapé où je suis assis. Elle porte une veste croisée sombre, moirée, très ajustée, un jeans noir, des bottines en daim. Sa silhouette est fine avec quelque chose d’adolescent. Cheveux courts, couleur papier carbone, nez droit, yeux sombres, lèvres bien dessinées. Elle tient entre le majeur et l’annulaire une cigarette qu’elle semble avoir oubliée et qui se consume lentement en un mince filet blanc.

À la dévisager ainsi, je crains de la gêner. Pour occuper mon attention ailleurs, je compte en silence les invités : 1, 2, 3… Je continue : 8, 9, 10… 21, 22… Manifestement, j’ai perdu le fil, nous ne sommes pas si nombreux. Je reporte mon attention sur la personne devant moi. Elle regarde distraitement une photographie contemporaine, une image de jungle énigmatiquement intitulée L’Ivrée bleue. Ses lèvres remuent, comme si elle se parlait-elle à elle-même. Elle semble fredonner « toï, toï, toï », ou quelque chose comme ça. Je ne comprends pas. Son coude est posé sur le bras du fauteuil, son poignet légèrement cassé. La cigarette a disparue remplacée par une coupe de champagne. Malgré la distance je distingue à l’un de ses doigts une grosse bague : une tête de Gorgone d’or dont les orbites sont sertis de deux diamants. Ces deux yeux transparents semblent me fixer. Me posent-ils une question ?

Je fais signe à Yvonne. Avec son blond platine et son tailleur pantalon, elle a la quarantaine foudroyante. Elle s’approche avec aisance, se glissant entre les invités, et s’assied à côté de moi. Je me penche vers elle et lui demande, désignant d’un geste de la tête la personne que j’observe depuis quelque minutes : « Qui est-ce ? » Yvonne sourit mystérieusement et réponds : « Ormaie ». Je n’ose pas lui demander s’il s’agit d’un homme ou d’une femme.

 

Pour en savoir plus sur Ormaie.

______

Année 2019 – Lieu FRANCE – Photos CHARLES NEGRE