Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Stone house Theo Domini

Published 20 / 01 / 2022

In the heart of Bordeaux, in the historic Sacré Coeur district, lies a very sensitive renovation. Imagined by the architect and photographer Theo Domini, this project is rooted in an ancient stone construction, which reveals a certain propensity to conceive architecture as an experience of deprivation, a confrontation with the essential. 

Witnesses to years of occupation, the existing structural parts and the thick stone walls were exhumed there to underline the archaism of their materials. Nothing is really squared or straight, but the proportions are exact.

Cleaned of the marks of glue, paint and other coatings that the years had imposed on them, the woodwork was sandblasted to reconnect with the thickness of the material and reveal the aesthetics of the grain of a wood. The insulated sloping ceilings clad with rough-sawn fir frame battens have been stained with walnut stain to saturate the expression of their veining and reconnect with the nuance of their surfaces. The absence of finishing claims their imperfect beauty and enriches a natural roughness that brings them closer to their original state. The old wooden floorboards are impregnated with linseed oil and placed directly on the joists. They are exempt from the implementation of underlay or insulation in order to exacerbate the poetic creaks of wood underfoot. Sitting on the ground, covered by the wooden planks, the smell of smoke in the hearth, raindrops on the roof, wood crackling in the fire, urban noise somewhere in the outside world... Here, the influence of place makes you think things differently.

One lives there surrounded by little, freed from the affectation of rich furniture. The space focuses on bare necessities that encourages us to re-examine the notion of comfort and expose us that luxury lies more in the way we experience a space than in the appearance of precious elements. There are neither armchairs nor chairs, whose rigid forms inspire the constraint of the body. There are only a few black leather seats, a long bench carved from solid walnut trunks, and an imposing monastic table designed and made specifically for this project.

Home and studio of the architect, Theo Domini brings his projects to life in a sober atmosphere, amplified by the beauty of raw things, which isolates, questions, and summons the imagination.

Frais de port offerts en France à partir de 250€

Maison de Pierre Theo Coutanceau Domini

Publié le 20/01/2022

Au coeur de Bordeaux, dans le quartier historique du Sacré Coeur, se cache une rénovation d’une grande sensibilité. Imaginé par l’architecte et photographe Theo Coutanceau Domini, ce projet prend racine dans une ancienne construction de pierre, qui révèle une certaine propension à concevoir l’architecture comme une expérience du dénuement, une confrontation à l’essentiel. 

Témoins d’années d’occupation, les pièces de charpente existantes et les épais murs en pierre y ont été exhumés pour souligner l’archaïsme de leurs matériaux. Rien n’y est vraiment équarri ni droit mais les proportions sont exactes.

Désincrustées des marques de colles, peintures et autres revêtements que leur avaient imposées les années, les boiseries ont été sablées pour renouer avec l’épaisseur de la matière et révéler l’esthétique de la veine d’un bois. Les plafonds rampants isolés et bardés de voliges de charpente en sapin brute de sciage ont été teintées au brou de noix pour saturer l’expression de leur veinage et renouer avec la nuance de leurs surfaces. L’absence de finition revendique leur beauté imparfaite et rend plus riche une rugosité naturelle qui les rapproche de leur état d’origine. Les lames de parquet en bois ancien sont imprégnées d’huile de lin et disposées directement sur les solives. Elles s’exonèrent de la mise en œuvre de sous-couche ou d’isolant afin d’exacerber les craquements poétiques du bois sous les pas. Assis sur le sol, recouvert par les planches de bois, l’odeur de la fumée dans l’âtre, gouttes de pluie sur le toit, bois qui craque dans le feu, rumeur urbaine quelque part dans le monde extérieur… Ici, l’influence du lieu donne à penser les choses différemment.

On y vit entouré de peu de chose, affranchit de l’affectation de riche mobilier. L’espace se concentre sur des nécessités nues qui incite à ré-interroger la notion du confort et nous exposer que le luxe réside davantage dans notre manière de vivre un espace que dans l’apparence d’éléments précieux. On y retrouve ni fauteuils, ni chaises, dont la rigidité des formes inspire la contrainte du corps. Seuls sont disposés quelques assises de cuir noir, un long banc taillé dans des troncs de noyer massifs, et une imposante table monacale dessinés et réalisés spécifiquement pour ce projet.

Lieu de vie et atelier de l’architecte, Theo Coutanceau Domini y fait naitre ses projets dans une atmosphère sobre, amplifié par la beauté des choses crues, qui isole, interroge, et convoque l’imaginaire.