Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Not Now Michael Beitz

Published 16 / 03 / 2017

Michael Beitz is an artist combining furniture design and know-how, adept in the deconstruction of furniture. He proves it to us with his Not Now installation, a table about 9 meters long with the particularity of being "tied" in the center.

Crafts at the service of art

The table, in walnut, gives the impression of a classic dining table. This is what Michael wants to bring out in most of his works: the common. The main table top was made from thin plywood panels that were arched to create the top of the table. The feet have been designed from solid walnut wood. Having been trained in furniture making at a younger age, it was only very recently that Michael used these skills in his artistic work. It was then he himself who made this table, with the help of his wife Masha Sha. The plywood was bent freely, thanks to ropes to hold the structure as it wanted.

Our relationship with objects

Most of his furniture work conveys a feeling of isolation. When we ask him if he wanted to transcribe the omnipresence of smartphones during meals, he explains to us that his feeling is much murkier than that: “The smartphone connects us and isolates us simultaneously. Being alone with others creates an abundance of discomfort and discomfort in society. » The idea of ​​materializing this experience through a table is not a trivial gesture. According to him, our relationship with objects is also or even stronger than the one we have with human beings. Not now then plays with these societal reflections, making them much more than an artistic structure, but conceptual furniture.

WE love

The transformation of an everyday object to transcribe a societal feeling, the originality of the forms in a noble wood.

Fêtes de fin d'année : Livraison gratuite en France pour les commandes supérieures à 150€ 

Not Now Michael Beitz

Publié le 16/03/2017

Michael Beitz est un artiste mêlant design mobilier et savoir-faire, adepte de la déstructuration de mobilier. Il nous le prouve avec son installation Not Now, une table d’environ 9 mètres de long avec la particularité d’être «nouée» au centre.

L’artisanat au service de l’art

La table, en noyer, donne l’impression d’une table à manger classique. C’est ce que Michael souhaite faire ressortir dans la plupart de ses oeuvres : le commun. Le plateau principal de la table a été réalisée à partir de fins panneaux de contreplaqué qui ont été cintrés pour créer la partie supérieure de la table. Les pieds ont quant à eux été conçus à partir de bois massif de noyer. Ayant été formé plus jeune dans la fabrication de meubles, ce n’est que très récemment que Michael s’est servi de ces compétences dans son travail artistique. C’est alors lui-même qui a réalisé cette table, avec l’aide de sa femme Masha Sha. Le contreplaqué a été cintré librement, grâce à des cordes pour maintenir la structure comme il le désirait.

Notre relation avec les objets

La plupart de son travail mobilier traduit un sentiment d’isolation. Quand on lui demande s’il a voulu retranscrire l’omniprésence des smartphones lors des repas, il nous explique que son sentiment est bien plus trouble que cela : « Le smartphone nous connecte et nous isole simultanément. Le fait d’être seul avec les autres crée une abondance de gênes et malaises dans la société. »  L’idée de matérialiser cette expérience par une table n’est pas un geste anodin. Selon lui, notre relation avec les objets serait aussi voir plus forte que celle que l’on entretient avec les êtres humains. Not now joue alors avec ces réflexions sociétales, en en faisant bien plus qu’une structure artistique, mais un mobilier conceptuel.

On aime

La transformation d’un objet du quotidien pour retranscrire un sentiment sociétal, l’originalité des formes dans un bois noble.