NEW: explore our new editions

Shop

La cagette en peuplier

20 €

Sold out

We meet the crate mainly in the open air markets. Scaffolded in piles and arranged in stalls, it transports and then exhibits fruits and vegetables. So the eye wanders from leek to turnip and hardly cares about this container, the slice of which is barely visible. Yet this link in the food chain deserves attention. For 60 years, its form has been intact: a few thin poplar slats sufficiently stapled. Despite this apparent simplicity and its rudimentary assembly, it embodies the balance between lightness, resistance and economy of material. This contemporary crate is the result of an evolution of food containers ranging from rural basketwork to reusable crates.

This issue is developed in collaboration with the Vitra Design Museum. It includes 64 pages, 45 photographs of objects printed in two-color, 30 color illustrations, an introduction by Alexandre D'Orsetti and a cross interview between the French artist, Philippe Weisbecker, the historian, Pierre Cornu and Jean-Luc Baley, Director of Emballages Bois Martin.

 

Typologie is a collection of books to travel to the source of the objects that surround us. Its aim is to offer a fresh look at ordinary objects to allow readers to appreciate and rediscover the meaning of their forms. Each issue is devoted to an object. It inventories its forms, documents its history, explores its manufacturing secrets and brings together the eyes of specialists. This content is presented through sixty original reproductions, archival images, a report in a factory, an author's text and a cross-interview. Each theme is also an opportunity to produce complementary printed objects, including lithographs that celebrate the beauty of their shapes in a different way.

 

Informations :

Editor: Typology Collections

Printed by: Unicum

Year: 2019

Pages: 64

Cover: Paperback

Language: English

ISBN: 978-2-490958-04-7

© Collections Typology

Delivery info

La cagette en peuplier

20 €

On rencontre la cagette essentiellement sur les marchés de plein vent. Échafaudée en pile et arrangée en étals, elle achemine puis expose fruits et légumes. Ainsi l’œil vadrouille du poireau au navet et ne se soucie guère de ce contenant dont on distingue à peine la tranche. Pourtant ce maillon de la chaîne alimentaire mérite qu’on s’y attarde. Depuis 60 ans, sa forme est intacte : quelques fines lattes de peuplier suffisamment agrafées. Malgré cette apparente simplicité et son assemblage rudimentaire, elle incarne l’équilibre entre légèreté, résistance et économie de matière. Cette cagette contemporaine résulte d’une évolution des contenants alimentaires allant des vanneries rurales jusqu’aux cageots réutilisables.

Ce numéro est développé en collaboration avec le Vitra Design Museum. Il comprend 64 pages, 45 photographies d’objets imprimées en bichromie, 30 illustrations couleur, une introduction par Alexandre D’Orsetti et une interview croisée entre l’artiste français, Philippe Weisbecker, l’historien, Pierre Cornu et Jean-Luc Baley, directeur des Emballages Bois Martin.

 

Typologie est une collection de livres pour voyager à la source des objets qui nous entourent. Son but est d’offrir un regard nouveau sur les objets ordinaires pour permettre aux lecteurs d’apprécier et de redécouvrir le sens de leurs formes. Chaque numéro est consacré à un objet. Il inventorie ses formes, documente son histoire, explore ses secrets de fabrication et réunit le regard de spécialistes. Ce contenu est présenté à travers soixante reproductions originales, des images d’archives, un reportage dans une usine, un texte d’auteur et une interview croisée. Ils sont édités dans une version française et une version anglaise. Chaque thème est aussi l’occasion de produire des objets imprimés complémentaires dont des lithographies qui célèbrent autrement la beauté de leur formes.

 

Informations :

Editeur : Collections Typologie

Imprimé par : Unicum

Année : 2019

Pages : 64

Couverture : Broché

Langue : Français ou anglais

ISBN: 978-2-490958-04-7

© Collections Typologie

  • Essences de bois : Peuplier
  • Dimensions : 21 x 26 x cm
  • Créateur : Typologie

En stock

EN FR