Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Imprint rolls Chialing Chang

Published 28 / 09 / 2021

Pieces designed for the Local Ware: Cooking Edition exhibition, visible until October 07 at Jogging Epicerie in Marseille.

Imprint is a collection of rolling pins and pastry boards for shaping dough, designed by Chialing Chang. Interested in incorporating the beauty of wood into the cooking process, the series focuses on creating shapes and textures. 

Japanese technique yakisugi is the starting point for the exploration of design. Mainly used for the exterior cladding of traditional houses, it is a method of natural protection of wood by charring it to increase its durability. The combustion treatment also gives a true black color finish as well as distinct textures.

Seeing the potential, Chialing experimented with this technique and developed another application for the Local Ware project. To showcase the inherent texture of the local timber named Taiwana, sawn rift planks and beams - radial cut pattern - have been carefully selected. The wood was then burned with a blowtorch, a tool different from the traditional method, to obtain a better quality of heating in a small-scale treatment. The softer and charred parts were subsequently brushed to reveal very distinct textures.

The subject of design takes up references from Mediterranean cuisine, such as designing pasta or gnocchi on planks.

 

Discover here the parts of the selection.

Fêtes de fin d'année : Livraison gratuite en France pour les commandes supérieures à 150€ 

Rouleaux Imprint Chialing Chang

Publié le 28/09/2021

Pièces conçues à l’occasion de l’exposition Local Ware: Cooking Edition, visible jusqu’au 07 Octobre chez Jogging Epicerie à Marseille.

Imprint est une collection de rouleaux et de planches à pâtisserie pour le façonnage de la pâte, imaginée par Chialing Chang. Intéressée par l’intégration de la beauté du bois dans le processus de cuisson, la série se concentre sur la création de formes et de textures. 

La technique japonaise Yakisugi est le point de départ de l’exploration du design. Principalement utilisée pour le revêtement extérieur des maisons traditionnelles, il s’agit d’une méthode de protection naturelle du bois en le carbonisant pour augmenter sa durabilité. Le traitement de combustion confère également une véritable finition de couleur noire ainsi que des textures distinctes.

Voyant le potentiel, Chialing a expérimenté cette technique et a développé une autre application pour le projet Local Ware. Pour mettre en valeur la texture inhérente du bois local nommé Taiwana, des planches et des poutres sciées de rift – modèle de coupe radial – ont été soigneusement sélectionnées. Le bois a ensuite été brûlé avec un chalumeau, outil différent de la méthode traditionnelle, pour obtenir une meilleure qualité de chauffe dans un traitement à petite échelle. Les parties plus tendres et carbonisées ont été brossées par la suite pour dévoiler des textures bien distinctes.

Le sujet du design reprend des références de la cuisine méditerranéenne, telle que la conception de pâtes ou de gnocchis sur des planches.