Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Sarah Espeute

Published 05 / 09 / 2021

From the city of Marseille, Sarah Espeute expresses her creativity through different mediums. Halfway between art and craftsmanship, she notably develops a line of embroidered pieces. For the start of the 2021 school year, Sarah signs a new collaboration with OROS in connection with wood. Meet.

Hello Sarah. Artist and designer, you are currently evolving in the practice of embroidery. Can you tell us about your journey so far? 

I was educated in an Applied Arts high school in Nîmes and then I went to Paris to do a BTS Visual Communication at Olivier de Serre (ENSAAMA). After these 2 years and a 6-month internship in London, I set up RISO PRESTO, a printing and publishing house specializing in Riso, a printing technique similar to screen printing on office automation duplicators (from the RISO brand ) misappropriated for artistic purposes. Little by little I turned to illustration and it is in this process that I became more particularly interested in the concept of “interior illustration” under the duo “Klima Intérieurs”. This illustrative and imaginary approach to our vision of design and art pushed me to 3D creation. The embroidery learned as a child and my attraction to textiles naturally constituted my first mediums to imagine decorative objects. At home, I had the idea of ​​making trompe-l'oeil and drawing with thread on curtains. I immediately liked the illustrative rendering in an interior. The meal tablecloth came following this experiment, for an exhibition around the table in Biarritz.

Your embroidered pieces for the table reveal modern but at the same time timeless patterns. What are you looking for through them? 

The trompe-l'oeil tablecloth gives a new dimension to the table, a fun shift without losing its original meaning, that of meals and conviviality. The embroidery and the old fabric bring this authentic and traditional side that I love so much. By doing narrative embroidery, I can imagine so many stories and hanging moments. But I like that the narrative medium relies on familiar objects that I find timeless. I like the idea that the tablecloth has no time marker, that it is between the past and the present, that it makes you forget the notion of time.

How do you select your fabrics? 

I mainly use old Métis, a linen and cotton weaving, very common for making sheets at the time. They are thick and the quality is incomparable with that of the current fabric. These sheets are between 50 and 100 years old and I think it's great to be able to give them a second life. When they are stained or too bleached by washing, I have them dyed in natural dye, everything is reused!

You who perpetuate traditions and know-how through your practice, how do you see craftsmanship evolving in the coming years? 

Craftsmanship is once again the future of design. People realize the value of a craft object, the know-how behind the hand and the human behind the know-how.

For the new selection “On The Table”, we suggested that you design pieces for the table inspired by wood. What is your interest in this material and how does it inspire you? 

I really like the presence of wood in an interior, I even find that essential! Even though it is a common material, it remains noble and authentic. And then there are so many ways to work on it, to renew it, that the inspiration is endless. Wood we will never get tired of.

Can you present us these 2 pieces that you imagined and designed?

When Laure asked me to imagine table elements inspired by wood, I immediately wanted to use my scraps of old fabrics to make quilts. The fabrics are raw with different colors, I assemble them like pieces of wood. The “butterfly” yoke of the double placemats echoes the “dovetail wrench” wood assembly, traditionally used to consolidate cracked wood. The black lines which symbolize the grain of the wood are made with a sewing machine, this is what brings finesse to the point but also this mechanical side which balances with the rustic and raw aspect of the fabric.

Find his pieces on our Online Store, Creators tab.

Fêtes de fin d'année : Livraison gratuite en France pour les commandes supérieures à 150€ 

Sarah Espeute

Publié le 05/09/2021

Depuis la ville de Marseille, Sarah Espeute exprime sa créativité à travers différents médiums. A mi-chemin entre art et artisanat, elle développe notamment une ligne de pièces brodées. Pour cette rentrée 2021, Sarah signe une nouvelle collaboration avec OROS en lien avec le bois. Rencontre.

Bonjour Sarah. Artiste et designer, tu évolues en ce moment dans la pratique de la broderie. Peux-tu nous présenter ton parcours jusque là ? 

J’ai été scolarisée dans un lycée Arts Appliqués à Nîmes et je suis ensuite partie à Paris faire un BTS Communication Visuelle à Olivier de Serre (ENSAAMA). Après ces 2 années et un stage de 6 mois à Londres, j’ai monté RISO PRESTO, une imprimerie et maison d’édition spécialisée en Riso, une technique d’impression similaire à la sérigraphie sur des duplicopieurs de bureautique (de la marque RISO) détournés à des fins artistiques. Petit à petit je me suis orientée vers l’illustration et c’est dans cette démarche que je me suis plus particulièrement intéressée  au concept “ d’illustration d’intérieur ” sous le duo “Klima Intérieurs”. Cette approche illustrative et imaginaire de notre vision du design et de l’art m’a poussée à la création 3D. La broderie apprise enfant et mon attirance pour le textile ont naturellement constitué mes premiers médiums pour imaginer des objets de décoration. Chez moi, j’ai eu l’idée de réaliser des trompe-l’œil et de dessiner avec le fil sur des rideaux. Le rendu illustratif dans un intérieur m’a tout de suite plu. La nappe repas est venue suite à cette expérimentation, pour une exposition autour de la table à Biarritz.

Tes pièces brodées pour la table dévoilent des motifs modernes mais à la fois intemporels. Que recherches-tu à travers elles ? 

La nappe trompe-l’œil donne une nouvelle dimension à la table, un décalage amusant sans perdre son sens originel, celui du repas et de la convivialité. La broderie et le tissu ancien apportent ce côté authentique et traditionnel que j’aime tant. En faisant de la broderie narrative, je peux imaginer tellement d’histoires et de moments suspendus. Mais j’aime que le support narratif repose sur des objets familiers que je trouve intemporels. J’aime l’idée que la nappe n’ait pas de marqueur de temps, qu’elle soit entre le passé et le présent, qu’elle fasse oublier la notion du temps.

Comment sélectionnes-tu tes tissus ? 

J’utilise principalement du Métis ancien, un tissage de lin et coton, très courant pour la confection de draps à l’époque. Ils sont épais et la qualité est incomparable avec celle du tissu actuel. Ces draps ont entre 50 et 100 ans et je trouve ça génial de pouvoir leur donner une seconde vie. Lorsqu’ils sont tachés ou trop blanchis par le lavage, je les fais teindre en teinture naturelle, tout est réutilisé !

Toi qui perpétues des traditions et savoir-faire à travers ta pratique, comment vois-tu l’artisanat évoluer les prochaines années ? 

L’artisanat c’est de nouveau l’avenir du design. Les gens prennent conscience de la valeur d’un objet artisanal, le savoir-faire derrière la main et l’humain derrière le savoir-faire.

Pour la nouvelle sélection « On The Table », nous t’avons proposé de concevoir des pièces pour la table inspirées par le bois. Quel intérêt portes-tu à ce matériau et comment t’inspire t’il ? 

J’aime beaucoup la présence du bois dans un intérieur, je trouve cela même indispensable ! Même si c’est un matériau commun, il reste noble et authentique. Et puis il existe tellement de manières de le travailler, le renouveler, que l’inspiration est sans fin. Le bois on ne s’en lassera jamais.

Peux-tu nous présenter ces 2 pièces que tu as imaginées et conçues ?

Quand Laure m’a demandé d’imaginer des éléments de table inspirés du bois, j’ai tout de suite eu envie d’utiliser mes chutes de tissus anciens pour faire des patchworks. Les tissus sont bruts avec des teintes différentes, je les assemble comme des pièces de bois. L’empiècement “papillon” des doubles sets de table fait écho à l’assemblage de bois “clé à queue d’aronde“, traditionnellement utilisé pour consolider le bois fissuré. Les lignes noires qui symbolisent le veinage du bois sont faites à la machine à coudre, c’est ce qui apporte une finesse au point mais aussi ce côté mécanique qui s’équilibre avec l’aspect rustique et brut du tissu.

Retrouvez ses pièces sur notre boutique en ligne, onglet Créateurs.