Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

The Butler David Chipperfield Architects & AHEC

Published 06 / 04 / 2017

On the occasion of the Wallpaper * Handmade exhibition held in Milan from April 12 to 16, the American Hardwood Export Council collaborated with David Chipperfield Architects and E15 to create The Butler.

This collaboration is based on the observation that few travelers completely unpack their luggage in their hotel room. For what ? “Because most hotels have poorly designed cupboards and wardrobes,” explains David Chipperfield. They would be poorly organized and unpacking our things would become a chore. The Butler was designed to address this issue, making the experience more enjoyable. This re-interpretation of the wardrobe offers us tailor-made furniture, allowing travelers to easily unpack their luggage and ensure that they have not left anything behind before leaving. With an integrated dressing table, the wardrobe becomes both multi-functional and elegant.

It was a first for E15, a German design house, to work with American willow, a wood much softer than the European oak they are used to. The know-how of each party has been pooled in order to bring a large number of constructive details to the furniture. This is particularly the case on the rear part of the part, where an interval has been thought out in order to anticipate future developments in the wood.

The American willow was chosen in particular for its creamy brown sapwood and its fine texture. It is associated with brushed brass, vegetable leather, and Bianco Carrara marble, thus creating an interesting contrast between different noble materials.

For AHEC, teaming up with a world-renowned architect to explore an unpopular American hardwood was a very enriching experience.

WE love

The minimalist reinterpretation of common but outdated furniture.

The Butler David Chipperfield Architects & AHEC

Publié le 06/04/2017

A l’occasion de l’exposition Wallpaper* Handmade tenue à Milan du 12 au 16 avril dernier, l’American Hardwood Export Council a collaboré avec David Chipperfield Architects et E15 pour créer The Butler.

Cette collaboration part du constat que rare sont les voyageurs qui défont entièrement leurs bagages dans leur chambre d’hôtel. Pourquoi ? « Car la plupart des hôtels possèdent des placards et des penderies mal dessinées » nous explique David Chipperfield. Elles seraient mal organisées et déballer nos affaires deviendrait alors une corvée. The Butler a été conçu pour répondre à cette problématique, en rendant l’expérience plus agréable. Cette ré-interprétation de la penderie nous offre un mobilier sur mesure, permettant aux voyageurs de défaire facilement leurs bagages et s’assurer qu’ils n’ont rien laissé derrière eux avant de partir. Avec une coiffeuse intégrée, la penderie devient à la fois multi-fonctionnelle et élégante.

Ce fut une première pour E15, maison de design allemande, que de travailler le saule d’Amérique, un bois beaucoup plus tendre que le chêne européen dont ils ont l’habitude. Le savoir-faire de chaque parti a été mis en commun afin d’apporter un grand nombre de détails constructifs au mobilier. C’est notamment le cas sur la partie arrière de la pièce, où un intervalle a été pensé afin d’anticiper les futures évolutions du bois.

Le saule d’Amérique, a notamment été choisi pour son aubier de couleur brun crème et sa texture fine. Il est associé au laiton brossé, au cuir végétal, et au marbre Bianco Carrara, créant ainsi un contraste intéressant entre différents matériaux nobles.

Pour l’AHEC, faire équipe avec un architecte de renommée mondiale pour explorer un bois de feuillus américain impopulaire fut une expérience très enrichissante.

On aime

La ré-interprétation minimaliste d’un mobilier commun mais désuet.

EN FR