Free shipping in France from 250€

Timothée Concaret & Nicolas Mérigout Formel Studio

Published 13 / 05 / 2020

Timothée and Nicolas, two different backgrounds but a common approach and values. By creating their creation and manufacturing studio 1 year ago, they breathe new life into design. Both industrial in the curves and artisanal in the production, they made us want to know more. Discovery.

What are your respective backgrounds?

Timothee : I studied product design at ENSAAMA Olivier de Serres before doing a one-year internship, in Paris with the sculptor Pucci de Rossi then in Rotterdam with the architect Reinier de Jong. I already liked the idea of ​​touching all the disciplines. Back in France, I did two years of Masters in Strasbourg. It was there that I met Nicolas. After obtaining our diploma, we came to Paris to work, each on our own. Even though at that time I already wanted to found my studio, I still didn't know where to start and I had to learn. For three years, I trained with design and architecture agencies: Naço Architectures, Christophe Pillet and Studio 5.5, where I had the chance to work on a wide variety of projects: yacht, cinema, hotel , shop, furniture and scenography.

Nicolas : I studied interior architecture at ESAAT in Roubaix then in Strasbourg. During all these years, I did internships in design agencies but also in art workshops. The discovery of the forge at the Ateliers de Coubertin remains one of my most striking experiences. I already had a fairly manual approach to the practice but the desire to make my own objects was growing. Back in Paris, I trained in cabinetmaking at Ateliers Synapses. I had the chance to work with them for a year before setting up my own workshop. For two years, I have been working on my own on furniture, interior design and event projects.

Tell me about your first collaboration, for the “Talent Revealers” competition.

Timothee : in fact we were looking for a way to work together since our studies in Strasbourg. In September 2015, we took part in the Talent Revealer competition for the first time, with a prototype chair that we designed and manufactured. Although our project was not accepted, we knew we had something. At the end of 2018, we tried the competition again, this time with a lighting project. Nicolas had just had his own workshop and for my part I started freelancing.

Nicolas : in March 2019, when we won the first prize, we said to ourselves that we had to create our studio. We refined the project during the summer and in September, we officially presented ourselves during Paris Design Week, under the name Formel.

Nicolas is a craftsman-cabinetmaker, Timothée an industrial designer. How do you design a project together?

Timothee : we are very complementary. We have two different visions but the same rigor; we like things that are clear, crisp and precise (that's where the name Formal comes from). Even if there are naturally roles that are created, thanks to everyone's experiences, we try not to stick to what we know how to do. For example, ideas come as much from Nicolas as from me. While I usually need a few pages of sketches before I share a lead, Nicolas is more direct and begins to study the feasibility first.

Nicolas : we are passionate about beautiful details and sometimes the idea comes simply from a technical challenge that we have launched. Anyway, it is not Timothy who draws and I who manufacture, everything is done in pairs and each seeks to learn from the other. I think that we have a lot of respect and admiration for the work of the other, it is essential.

You started to work for companies such as Ligne Roset or SNCF. How do you see these projects?

So far, we have had the chance to work on fairly large projects. Despite this, everything happened very naturally. Even if the project may seem ambitious, we must stay down to earth. For the SNCF, for example, a relationship of trust was established very quickly between the client, the Zakka agency which orchestrated the event and the other designers (Brichet & Ziegler, Desormeaux & Carrette, Studio Monsieur and Rémi Perret). Everything was done with great respect and professionalism.

You recently published your own pieces. Can you tell me more about this aspect of your work?

Timothee : in reality, it was self-publishing that pushed us to join forces. By pooling our know-how, we were able to design and manufacture our own objects. We didn't want to produce unique and inaccessible pieces, but series. The choice to draw simple objects, with the right amount of material is rational; we want to be able to produce, in medium series and with the means at our disposal, accessible made in France objects that appeal to the greatest number.

Nicolas : we want to create objects that last, as much for their timeless aesthetics as for the quality of the materials. We hope in this way to encourage people to consume less but better. For this reason, Japanese design is one of our greatest sources of inspiration because it goes straight to the point, while respecting the user, the material and the person who uses it.

What is your relationship with wood material?

The use of wood was spontaneous. We are very comfortable with this material because it is naturally beautiful and it makes each object unique. As craftsmen, we understand the material we put into shape. We are able to anticipate manufacturing constraints and design our objects accordingly. It is not always easy to use solid wood because it is a living material, which moves and patina, but it is all these constraints that give it its charm.

You work with wood from sustainably managed French forests, why is this important in your approach?

Nicolas : as manufacturers, we have the possibility of choosing how to produce our objects and with what resources. We are aware that working in this way is a privilege. We carefully select our suppliers because even if this represents an additional investment, we ensure the proper renewal of resources. The trees that are used in the manufacture of our objects are sometimes over 150 years old! We thank the past generations for this beautiful gift.

Timothee : we can't have it all right, but certain things are important to us and we try to integrate them into our work. For example, using responsible and sustainable wood as well as natural finishing oils, limiting the use of glue and screws, drawing removable objects as much as possible, both for a practical point of view and to limit the footprint carbon of our deliveries. We hope that our objects will live as long as possible but we try to think in spite of everything about what they will become in the end. These are small things but you have to anticipate from the start.

A favorite essence?

We particularly like oak, it is a very “French” wood, which is part of our culture. Its color and smell reminds us both of good memories. Each project has different constraints and each species of wood has very specific characteristics, which must be used wisely!

What is your working environment?

Timothee : our work environment is very relaxed. We are friends before being partners so we work with a smile even if sometimes we don't agree or we tear our hair out on a project. In fact, the simpler the object, the more difficult it was to design! In general, depending on the projects in progress, we try to alternate between workshop (mass production, special order and prototyping) and design office (email, drawing and 3D), in order to stay awake. Although it is more difficult when the going gets tough, we always try to save time to think about new projects.

Nicolas : in addition to that, we have the chance to be surrounded by friends with whom we can and we want to work: photographer, graphic designer, architect… etc. We appreciate this relationship of trust and mutual respect at work.

What are your plans for the future?

Timothee : we take advantage of this moment of calm to design our next collection. With current tools, you can work remotely very easily, as long as you stay in two dimensions. Nevertheless, we are used to quickly going into volume to validate the shape, proportions or ergonomics and the workshop is starting to fail us!

Nicolas : in general, we try to design a new collection per year and participate in one or two events. It is important to be able to present our products in person. People need to see and touch objects and it is also an opportunity to tell our story and explain our approach.

Timothée Concaret & Nicolas Mérigout Formel Studio

Publié le 13/05/2020

Timothée et Nicolas, deux parcours différents mais une approche et des valeurs communes. En créant il y a 1 an leur studio de création et de fabrication, ils donnent un souffle nouveau au design. À la fois industriel dans les courbes et artisanal dans la production, ils nous ont donné envie d’en savoir plus. Découverte.

Quels sont vos parcours respectifs ?

Timothée : j’ai étudié le design de produits à l’ENSAAMA Olivier de Serres avant de faire un an de stage, à Paris chez le sculpteur Pucci de Rossi puis à Rotterdam chez l’architecte Reinier de Jong. J’aimais déjà bien l’idée de toucher à toutes les disciplines. De retour en France, j’ai fait deux ans de Master à Strasbourg. C’est là que j’ai rencontré Nicolas. Après l’obtention de notre diplôme, on est venu à Paris pour travailler, chacun de notre côté. Même si à ce moment-là j’avais déjà envie de fonder mon studio, je ne savais pas encore par où commencer et il fallait que j’apprenne. Pendant trois ans, je me suis formé auprès d’agences de design et d’architecture : Naço Architectures, Christophe Pillet et le Studio 5.5, où j’ai eu la chance de pouvoir travailler sur des projets très variés : yacht, cinéma, hôtel, boutique, mobilier et scénographie.

Nicolas : j’ai étudié l’architecture intérieure à l’ESAAT de Roubaix puis à Strasbourg. Pendant toutes ces années, j’ai fait des stages dans des agences de design mais aussi dans des ateliers d’art. La découverte de la forge aux Ateliers de Coubertin reste l’une de mes expériences les plus marquantes. J’avais déjà une approche assez manuelle de la pratique mais l’envie de fabriquer mes propres objets se faisait de plus en plus grande. De retour sur Paris, je me suis formé à l’ébénisterie auprès des Ateliers Synapses. J’ai eu la chance de travailler un an avec eux avant de créer mon propre atelier. Depuis deux ans, je travaille à mon compte sur des projets de mobilier, architecture intérieure et événementiel.

Parlez-moi de votre première collaboration, pour le concours « Révélateurs de Talents ».

Timothée : en réalité on cherchait un moyen de travailler ensemble depuis nos études à Strasbourg. En septembre 2015, on a participé une première fois au concours Révélateur de Talents, avec un prototype de chaise que l’on a dessiné et fabriqué. Bien que notre projet n’ait pas été retenu, on savait qu’on tenait quelque chose. Fin 2018, on a retenté le concours avec cette fois-ci un projet de luminaire. Nicolas venait d’avoir son propre atelier et de mon côté je me lançais en freelance.

Nicolas : en mars 2019, quand on a remporté le premier prix, on s’est dit qu’il fallait qu’on crée notre studio. On a peaufiné le projet durant l’été et en septembre, on s’est présenté officiellement lors de la Paris Design Week, sous le nom de Formel.

Nicolas est artisan-ébéniste, Timothée designer industriel. Comment concevez-vous un projet ensemble ?

Timothée : on est très complémentaires. On a deux visions différentes mais la même rigueur ; on aime les choses claires, nettes et précises (c’est d’ailleurs de là que vient le nom Formel). Même si il y a naturellement des rôles qui se créent, grâce aux expériences de chacun, on essaye de ne pas s’en tenir à ce qu’on sait faire. Par exemple, les idées viennent autant de Nicolas que de moi. S’il me faut généralement quelques pages de croquis avant de partager une piste, Nicolas est plus direct et commence avant tout à étudier la faisabilité.

Nicolas : on est passionnés par les beaux détails et il arrive que l’idée vienne simplement d’un défi technique qu’on s’est lancé. Quoiqu’il en soit, ce n’est pas Timothée qui dessine et moi qui fabrique, tout se fait à deux et chacun cherche à apprendre de l’autre. Je pense qu’on a beaucoup de respect et d’admiration pour le travail de l’autre, c’est primordial.

Vous avez commencé à travailler pour des entreprises telles que Ligne Roset ou la SNCF.  Comment appréhendez-vous ces projets ?

Jusqu’ici, on a eu la chance de travailler sur des projets assez conséquents. Malgré cela, tout s’est fait très naturellement. Même si le projet peut sembler ambitieux, il faut rester terre-à-terre. Pour la SNCF, par exemple, la relation de confiance s’est instaurée très rapidement entre le client, l’agence Zakka qui orchestrait l’évènement et les autres designers (Brichet&Ziegler, Desormeaux&Carrette, Studio Monsieur et Rémi Perret). Tout s’est fait avec beaucoup de respect et de professionnalisme.

Vous éditez depuis peu vos propres pièces. Pouvez-vous m’en dire plus sur cet aspect là de votre travail ?

Timothée : en réalité, c’est l’auto-édition qui nous a poussé à nous associer. En mettant en commun nos savoir-faire, on était capables de dessiner et de fabriquer nos propres objets. On ne voulait pas produire des pièces uniques et inaccessibles mais de la série. Le choix de dessiner des objets simples, avec la juste quantité de matière est rationnel ; on veut pouvoir produire, en moyenne série et avec les moyens dont on dispose, des objets made in France accessibles, qui plaisent au plus grand nombre.

Nicolas : on veut créer des objets qui durent, autant par leur esthétique intemporelle que par la qualité des matériaux. On espère ainsi inciter les gens à consommer moins mais mieux. Pour cette raison, le design japonais est une de nos plus grandes sources d’inspiration car il va à l’essentiel, tout en respectant l’utilisateur, le matériau et celui qui le met en oeuvre.

Quel est votre rapport au matériau bois ?

L’utilisation du bois s’est faite spontanément. On est très à l’aise avec ce matériau car il est naturellement beau et il rend chaque objet unique. En tant qu’artisans, on comprend la matière que l’on met en forme. On est capables d’anticiper les contraintes de fabrication et de dessiner nos objets en conséquence. Ce n’est pas toujours évident d’utiliser du bois massif car c’est un matériau vivant, qui bouge et se patine, mais ce sont toutes ces contraintes qui lui donnent son charme.

Vous travaillez des bois provenant de forêts françaises gérées durablement, en quoi cela est important au sein de votre démarche ?

Nicolas : en tant que fabricants, on a la possibilité de choisir comment produire nos objets et avec quelles ressources. On est conscients que travailler ainsi est un privilège. On sélectionne avec soin nos fournisseurs car même si cela représente un investissement supplémentaire, on s’assure du bon renouvellement des ressources. Les arbres qui servent dans la fabrication de nos objets ont parfois plus de 150 ans ! On remercie les générations passées pour ce beau cadeau.

Timothée : on ne peut pas avoir juste sur toute la ligne mais certaines choses nous tiennent à coeur et on essaye de les intégrer dans notre travail. Par exemple, utiliser du bois responsable et durable ainsi que des huiles de finition naturelles, limiter l’usage de colle et de vis, dessiner des objets démontables dans la mesure du possible, autant pour un point de vue pratique que pour limiter l’empreinte carbone de nos livraisons. On espère que nos objets vivront le plus longtemps possible mais on essaye de penser malgré tout à ce qu’ils deviendront à la fin. Ce sont des petites choses mais qu’il faut anticiper dès le début.

Une essence de prédilection ?

On aime particulièrement le chêne, c’est un bois très “français”, qui fait partie de notre culture. Sa couleur et son odeur nous rappelle à tous les deux de bons souvenirs. Chaque projet présente des contraintes différentes et chaque essence de bois a des caractéristiques bien précises, qu’on doit utiliser à bon escient !

Quel est votre environnement de travail ?

Timothée : notre environnement de travail est très décontracté. On est amis avant d’être associés donc on travaille avec le sourire même si parfois on ne tombe pas d’accord ou qu’on s’arrache les cheveux sur un projet. En réalité, plus l’objet est simple, plus il a été difficile à concevoir ! De manière générale, en fonction des projets en cours, on essaye d’alterner entre atelier (production en série, commande particulière et prototypage) et bureau de création (mail, dessin et 3D), afin de se maintenir éveillés. Bien que ce soit plus difficile quand les choses s’accélèrent, on essaye de toujours se garder un temps pour réfléchir à de nouveaux projets.

Nicolas : en plus de cela, on a la chance d’être entourés d’amis avec lesquels on peut et on veut travailler : photographe, graphiste, architecte… etc. On apprécie cette relation de confiance et ce respect mutuel dans le travail.

Quels sont vos projets pour la suite ?

Timothée : on profite de ce moment d’accalmie pour dessiner notre prochaine collection. Avec les outils actuels, on peut travailler à distance très facilement, tant qu’on reste en deux dimensions. Néanmoins, on a l’habitude de passer rapidement en volume pour valider la forme, les proportions ou l’ergonomie et l’atelier commence à nous manquer !

Nicolas : de manière générale, on essaye de dessiner une nouvelle collection par an et de participer à un ou deux évènements. C’est important de pouvoir présenter nos produits en personne. Les gens ont besoin de voir et de toucher les objets et c’est aussi l’occasion de raconter notre histoire et d’expliquer notre démarche.

EN FR