Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Burnt cork Made in situ

Published 03 / 06 / 2021

Collection Burnt cork by Noé Duchaufour-Lawrance is the bearer of stories, those of the Portuguese lands scarred by the fires of the summer of 2017. 

The French designer deals with the identity of the territory: its raw material, its know-how and its craftsmen. Cork, the country's flagship material, is extracted every nine years from the bark of oak trees. Extracted from the charred forests in the Algarve, its partly consumed material bears witness to the tragedy. It is crushed then compressed to form a monolith ready to be sculpted. One block is required per room. The furniture plays with dualities and highlights tensions. The base with rigid lines opposes the fluid curves of the upper part. The granules, coarse in the lower part, are broken up for more refinement on the seat or the tray. The light and natural cork contrasts with the material partially blackened by the fire. 

In order to keep the tradition alive, the designer combines craftsmanship and technology to push the boundaries of innovation. The family business that creates the cork blocks by hand collaborates with the industrial company that sculpts the shapes using a CNC machine with seven axes. 

Through his project Made in situ, Noé Duchaufour-Lawrance tends to discover in depth the regions of Portugal through their crafts. He questions the relationship we have with our environment as a designer but also as a consumer.

Article written by Barbara Roussel.

  • Photographer: Photo 1 Nuno Sousa Dias, Made in Situ
  • Location: Portugal
  • Year: 2020
  • Website: https://madeinsitu.com/

Découvrez notre nouvelle sélection On The Table

Burnt Cork Made in Situ

Publié le 03/06/2021

La collection Burnt Cork de Noé Duchaufour-Lawrance est porteuse d’histoires, celles des terres portugaises meurtries par les incendies de l’été 2017. 

Le designer français compose avec l’identité du territoire : sa matière brute, son savoir-faire et ses artisans. Le liège, matériau phare du pays, est extrait tous les neuf ans de l’écorce des chênes. Extirpé des forêts calcinées en Algarve, sa matière en partie consumée témoigne du drame. Elle est concassée puis compressée pour former un monolithe prêt à être sculpté. Un bloc est nécessaire par pièce. Le mobilier joue avec les dualités et met en exergue des tensions. La base aux lignes rigides s’oppose aux courbes fluides de la partie supérieure. Les granulés, grossiers en partie basse, se morcèlent pour plus de raffinement sur l’assise ou le plateau. Le liège clair et naturel contraste avec la matière partiellement noircie par l’incendie. 

Afin de faire perdurer la tradition, le designer conjugue artisanat et technologie pour repousser les limites de l’innovation. L’entreprise familiale qui crée les blocs de liège à la main collabore avec l’entreprise industrielle qui sculpte les formes grâce à une machine CNC de sept axes. 

À travers son projet Made in Situ, Noé Duchaufour-Lawrance tend à découvrir en profondeur les régions du Portugal par le biais de leur artisanat. Il s’interroge sur la relation que nous entretenons avec notre environnement en tant que designer mais aussi consommateur.

Article rédigé par Barbara Roussel.

  • Photographe : Photo 1 Nuno Sousa Dias, Made in Situ
  • Lieu : Portugal
  • Année : 2020
  • Site : https://madeinsitu.com/