Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Chialing Chang

Published 28 / 09 / 2021

Chialing participates in the first edition of the Local Ware project. Taiwanese designer, his poetic and sensitive approach seduces us. She shares with us her vision of responsible design and materials.

You studied design at ECAL (Lausanne, Switzerland) and you are now back in Taiwan, your native country. What did these cultural experiences teach you?

Before entering ECAL, I trained in design in Taiwan and worked as a product designer in Tokyo, Japan. Interestingly, it wasn't until I moved to Lausanne that I realized the oriental dimension of my work. Swiss design is often underlined by a distinct sense of precision, while Taiwanese and Japanese aesthetics reveal subtle tones that echo emotions. During my student years, I started to realize these cultural differences which I then assimilated as a hybrid character in my creative process.

How would you define your job?

From products, through unique pieces to installations, I work on a wide range of projects. Nevertheless, there is a common thread: I like to connect process, material and form with experience, poetry and conceptual value. Much of my work stems from ideology, and for this reason I use the word "messagingleaving" to define my practice. There is always a personal message left in different creative formats, where the concept of communication goes beyond mass production.

What is your creative process?

My work begins with a simple idea, a question or an image without necessarily having a specific goal. What comes next is a plethora of testing and manual labor to find the right material, structure and methodology. For me, it is important to feel the material and explore its structural typologies. Then the shape, proportions and scale will appear naturally.

You seem very attracted to natural materials. Can you explain to us why? 

My penchant for natural materials is reflected in most of my works. I am fascinated by the quality of ephemeral nature. Pure, honest, unexpected, these characteristics together form a rich aesthetic statement that triggers people's emotions before awareness is even involved. I use the “quality of nature” as a kind of material in my works. In this, aging, transformation and decomposition are part of the design process, and water, fire and physical factors like tension or gravity become materials.

What is your vision of responsible design?

Imagining objects that are not put on the market just to be new, but also working with artisans who use materials responsibly echoes the notion of sustainability. I believe that a design is responsible when the result is not evaluated simply by the price, but also through some invisible aspects such as the creative aspiration and the working process.

You are part of the project localware as guest designer. What interests you in this project?

The notion of "local" is what drives me the most. How to find and develop objects with the most accessible resource from where I reside? How to transform the local context into a universal expression while keeping its own identity?

Can you present us the different pieces that you made for this edition around the kitchen?

Starting from the idea of ​​the mold, I first studied how wood could interact with the ingredients and be part of the cooking process. I studied the traditional Japanese Yakisugi technique, a method of natural protection of wood by charring it to increase its durability. The wood was burned with a blowtorch, a tool different from the traditional method, to obtain a better quality of heating in a small-scale treatment. The softer parts were subsequently brushed to reveal very distinct textures. The idea is therefore to print the patterns on the dough - as if we were coming to shape it with a bark. The wood used is Taiwania, a native species.

 

Find a selection of her pieces on our Online Store, Creators tab.

  • Photographer: Photo 3 ECAL and La Prairie collaboration in 2021. Credit: Younès Klouche / ECAL. Photo 4 Diploma project carried out at ECAL MAS Design for Luxury & Craftsmanship in 2020.
  • Location: Taiwan
  • Website: https://messagingleaving.com

Fêtes de fin d'année : Livraison gratuite en France pour les commandes supérieures à 150€ 

Chialing Chang

Publié le 28/09/2021

Chialing participe à la première édition du projet Local Ware. Designer taïwanaise, son approche poétique et sensible nous séduit. Elle partage avec nous sa vision du design responsable et des matériaux.

Tu as étudié le design à l’ECAL (Lausanne, Suisse) et tu es maintenant de retour à Taïwan, ton pays natal. Que t’ont appris ces expériences culturelles ?

Avant d’entrer à l’ECAL, j’ai reçu une formation en design à Taïwan et j’ai travaillé comme designer de produits à Tokyo, au Japon. Fait intéressant, ce n’est que lorsque j’ai déménagé à Lausanne que j’ai réalisé la dimension orientale de mon travail. Le design suisse est souvent souligné par un sens distinct de la précision, tandis que les esthétiques taïwanaise et japonaise révèlent des tonalités subtiles faisant écho aux émotions. Au cours de mes années d’études, j’ai commencé à prendre conscience de ces différences culturelles que j’ai ensuite assimilées comme un caractère hybride dans mon processus créatif.

Comment pourrais-tu définir ton travail ?

Des produits, en passant par des pièces uniques aux installations, je travaille sur un large éventail de projets. Néanmoins, il y a un fil conducteur : j’aime relier le processus, le matériau et la forme à l’expérience, à la poésie et à la valeur conceptuelle. Une grande partie de mon travail découle de l’idéologie, et pour cette raison que j’utilise le mot « messagingleaving » pour définir ma pratique. Il y a toujours un message personnel laissé sous différents formats créatifs, où le concept de communication dépasse la production de masse.

Quel est ton processus créatif ?

Mon travail commence par une idée simple, une question ou une image sans nécessairement de but précis. Ce qui vient après est une multitude de tests et de travaux manuels pour trouver le matériau, la structure et la méthodologie appropriés. Pour moi, il est important de ressentir le matériau et d’explorer ses typologies structurelles. Puis la forme, les proportions et l’échelle apparaîtront naturellement.

Tu sembles très attirée par les matières naturelles. Peux-tu nous expliquer pourquoi ? 

Mon penchant pour les matériaux naturels se traduit dans la plupart de mes œuvres. Je suis fascinée par la qualité de la nature éphémère. Pure, honnête, inattendue, ces caractéristiques forment ensemble un énoncé esthétique riche qui déclenche les émotions des gens avant même que la prise de conscience ne soit impliquée. J’utilise la « qualité de la nature » comme une sorte de matériau dans mes œuvres. En cela, le vieillissement, la transformation et la décomposition font partie du processus de conception, et l’eau, le feu et les facteurs physiques comme la tension ou la gravité deviennent des matériaux.

Quelle est ta vision du design responsable ?

Imaginer des objets qui ne sont pas mis sur le marché juste pour être nouveaux, mais aussi travailler avec des artisans qui utilisent des matériaux de manière responsable fait écho à la notion de durabilité. Je pense qu’un design est responsable lorsque le résultat n’est pas évalué simplement par le prix, mais aussi à travers certains aspects non visibles tels l’aspiration créative et le processus de travail.

Tu fais partie du project Local Ware en tant que designer invité. Qu’est-ce qui t’intéresse dans ce projet ?

La notion de « local » est ce qui m’anime le plus. Comment trouver et développer des objets avec la ressource la plus accessible depuis là où je réside ? Comment transformer le contexte local en une expression universelle tout en gardant sa propre identité ?

Peux-tu nous présenter les différentes pièces que tu as réalisées pour cette édition autour de la cuisine ?

En partant de l’idée du moule, j’ai d’abord étudié comment le bois pouvait interagir avec les ingrédients et faire partie du processus de cuisson. J’ai étudié la technique traditionnelle japonaise Yakisugi, méthode de protection naturelle du bois en le carbonisant pour augmenter sa durabilité. Le bois a été brûlé avec un chalumeau, outil différent de la méthode traditionnelle, pour obtenir une meilleure qualité de chauffe dans un traitement à petite échelle. Les parties les plus tendres ont été brossées par la suite pour dévoiler des textures bien distinctes. L’idée est donc d’imprimer les motifs sur la pâte – comme si l’on venait la façonner avec une écorce. Le bois utilisé est le Taiwania, une essence indigène.

  • Photographe : Photo 3 Collaboration ECAL et La Prairie en 2021. Credit: Younès Klouche/ ECAL. Photo 4 Projet de diplôme réalisé à l'ECAL MAS Design for Luxury & Craftsmanship en 2020.
  • Lieu : Taïwan
  • Site : https://messagingleaving.com