Explore our new On The Table selection via the Shop tab

Treehouse Sebastian Cox

Published 26 / 09 / 2021

Sebastian Cox is a London studio and workshop where craftsmanship and environmental considerations are at the heart of every project. With Treehouse Builder Root and Shoot and Engineer Timberwright, Brogan and Sebastian Cox bring the Treehouse, a perched shelter for adventures and play.

 

In the English countryside of Hertfordshire, a 2,5 by 2,3 meter hut takes refuge on the lowest branch of a massive Atlas Cedar. The inspirations are secular and borrowed from medieval constructions in which the designer grew up. The roof is covered with shingles, the frame of the cabin is assembled by a system of mortises and pegged tenons. The whole is designed to blend into the landscape and impact as little as possible on the Cedar that hosts it.

 

From a structural point of view, two cantilever beams dispense with the construction of an anchor in the ground and only four attachment points in the tree were necessary. The burnt larch covering, closer to the color of the bark of the Cedar, reduces the presence of the shelter at the same time as it naturally protects it from bad weather. The split chestnut of the shingles and the treatment of the guardrail gives a more primitive look to the construction.

 

Measured, gross and minimal, the Treehouse plays with the treatment of essences and the constructive principles to fit naturally at the foot of the Cedar that it envelops.

 

Article written by Barbara Roussel.

Fêtes de fin d'année : Livraison gratuite en France pour les commandes supérieures à 150€ 

Treehouse Sebastian Cox

Publié le 26/09/2021

Sebastian Cox est un studio et atelier londonien où l’artisanat et les considérations environnementales sont placés au coeur de chaque projet. Avec Root and Shoot, constructeur de cabanes dans les arbres, et l’ingénieur Timberwright, Brogan et Sebastian Cox réalisent la Treehouse, un abri perché pour les aventures et le jeu.

 

Dans la campagne anglaise du Hertfordshire, une cabane de 2,5 par 2,3 mètres se réfugie sur la branche la plus basse d’un massif Cèdre de l’Atlas. Les inspirations sont séculaires et empruntées aux constructions médiévales dans lesquelles le designer a grandi. La toiture est couverte de bardeaux, le cadre de la cabane est assemblé par un système de mortaises et tenons chevillés. L’ensemble est pensé pour se fondre dans le paysage et impacter le moins possible le Cèdre qui l’héberge.

 

D’un point de vue structurel, deux poutres en porte-à-faux dispensent la construction d’un ancrage dans le sol et seulement quatre points d’attache dans l’arbre ont été nécessaires. Le revêtement en mélèze brûlé, plus proche de la teinte de l’écorce du Cèdre, amenuise la présence de l’abri en même temps qu’il le protège naturellement des intempéries. Le châtaignier fendu des bardeaux et le traitement du garde-corps confère un aspect plus primitif à la construction.

 

Mesurée, brute et minimale, la Treehouse joue avec le traitement des essences et les principes constructifs pour s’inscrire naturellement au pied du Cèdre qu’elle enveloppe.

 

Article rédigé par Barbara Roussel.