Any order placed from 05/06 will be shipped on 17/06

Yoshino Cedar House Go Hasegawa & Samara Airbnb

Published 10 / 04 / 2018

Yoshino Cedar House, located near Osaka, was built by local carpenters and artisans using sustainable cedar harvested from the nearby mountains. The community retreat was created through a collaboration between Airbnb designers, Samara and architects Go Hasegawa. The team sought to unite the local community while providing an essential source of income for the city.

Like many rural areas in Japan, the small town of Yoshino has an aging population that is shrinking day by day. For years the city's main industry was sustainable forestry, but without new young workers, the city's only economic boost is its annual cherry blossom festival.
From the beginning of the Cedar House project, the architects and designers worked with local foresters, loggers and carpenters, from harvesting and cutting the timber to its construction. According to the architects, the design of the Yoshino Cedar House, which is technically owned and operated by the community, aims to pay homage to the area's local traditions as well as foster new relationships among residents: "Every detail of the structure inspires connection to the people of Yoshino and their underlying traditions. »

Located on the bank of the Yoshino River, the structure is clad inside and outside with warm hued cedar planks whose intricate patterns create a calming and peaceful environment. The lower floor, with a single table integrated into the floor, houses the living room and the dining room. An open staircase leads to two separate bedrooms on the second floor. The simple and uncluttered rooms each have a mattress and a small table and are lit by natural light coming from the structure's A-window.

Since its inauguration, the townspeople have taken charge of Airbnb rental operations and all profits are used to support the community.

WE love

Experimentation with new ways of living and working together.

  • Photographer: Edward Caruso
  • Location: Yoshino, Japan
  • Year: 2016
  • Website: http://ghaa.co.jp

Explorez notre nouvelle sélection On The Table via l'onglet Shop

Yoshino Cedar House Go Hasegawa & Samara Airbnb

Publié le 10/04/2018

Yoshino Cedar House, située près d’Osaka, a été construite par des charpentiers et artisans locaux avec du cèdre durable récolté dans les montagnes voisines. La retraite communautaire a été créée grâce à une collaboration entre les designers d’Airbnb, Samara et les architectes Go Hasegawa. L’équipe a cherché à fédérer la communauté locale tout en fournissant une source de revenus indispensable à la ville.

Comme beaucoup de régions rurales au Japon, la petite ville de Yoshino a une population vieillissante qui diminue de jour en jour. Pendant des années, la principale industrie de la ville était la foresterie durable, mais sans nouveaux jeunes travailleurs, le seul coup de pouce économique de la ville est son festival annuel des cerisiers en fleurs.
Dès le début du projet Cedar House, les architectes et les designers ont travaillé avec les forestiers, bûcherons et charpentiers locaux, de la récolte et de la coupe du bois à sa construction. Selon les architectes, la conception de la maison Yoshino Cedar, qui est techniquement détenue et exploitée par la communauté, vise à rendre hommage aux traditions locales de la région ainsi qu’à favoriser de nouvelles relations entre les résidents : « Chaque détail de la structure inspire la connexion aux habitants de Yoshino et à leurs traditions sous-jacentes. »

Située  sur la rive de la rivière Yoshino, la structure est revêtue à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de planches de cèdre aux teintes chaudes dont les motifs complexes créent un environnement apaisant et paisible. L’étage inférieur, avec une seule table intégrée dans le sol, abrite le salon et la salle à manger. Un escalier ouvert mène à deux chambres séparées au deuxième étage. Les chambres simples et épurées bénéficient chacune d’un matelas et d’une petite table et sont éclairées par la lumière naturelle provenant de la fenêtre en A de la structure.

Depuis son inauguration, les habitants de la ville se chargent des opérations de location Airbnb et tous les bénéfices sont utilisés pour soutenir la communauté.

On aime

L’expérimentation de nouveaux modes d’habitation et de collaboration.

  • Photographe : Edward Caruso
  • Lieu : Yoshino, Japon
  • Année : 2016
  • Site : http://ghaa.co.jp